Men in White

I’m impressed, very impressed. I have to admit that up until recently, I viewed football as a not particularly interesting sport. I’m more of a rugby union and league kinda gal.

But then the Men in White came along and gang busted their way into my attention. And not just mine. The rest of the world seems to be just as impressed and intrigued as I am at their success - perhaps even more so.

In case you haven’t already figured it out, I’m talking about the All Whites, New Zealand’s team in the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa. They commented in an interview before all this started that they had come there to win, and they’re having a damn good go at it.

Ranked 78th in the world, the team managed to astound the world by drawing with Slovakia in Rustenberg and then with the current world champions, Italy in Nelspruit. And in my humble opinion, if there hadn’t been some dodgy hollywooding by the Italians, then we would have won that game. I mean, how impressive is that?!

Go the All Whites!!

Our Prime Minister, John Key, who attended the most recent match, was over the moon with pride, as is the rest of New Zealand. It will be very interesting to see how they fare in their next game against Paraguay in Polokwane on Thursday.

But even if we go no further, in my mind they are champions already. They have achieved much more than anyone ever dreamed they would and we are proud of them, so very proud. Although the Australians are doing their darndest to stake a claim by saying the team is Australasian, our boys are Kiwi’s – tough, determined underdogs doing what Kiwi’s always do – fight the good fight. And it’s okay, we’ll share with you Aussies – after all, we’re neighbours.

So go on guys, do your best, we love you whether you win or not.

It’s good to be a Kiwi at any time, but you’ve done us proud, lads.